Who can apply: ages 12–45; no earlier course needed
Fee: ₹33,000 The same fee for J&K students and students from other states.
Fee covers: equipment · adventure insurance is compulsory and not included
Applications: Check with the institute · JIM&WS doesn't publish an application window; it confirms your seat by email once your application, medical form and fee receipt reach it.
Watch out: Screening test after the third day of the course: a brisk walk at 6.5 km/h, 5–10 sets of chin-ups and 5–10 sets of push-ups.
Special Basic Skiing Course 16Code: Special BSC 16
Discipline
Snow skiingSnow skiing & snowboarding
Level
Beginner
Course dates
24 Feb 2028 → 9 Mar 2028
Duration
15 days
Applications
Not confirmed openJIM&WS doesn't publish an application window; it confirms your seat by email once your application, medical form and fee receipt reach it.
Age limit
12–45 years
Fee (Indian nationals)
₹33,000
Seats
20 places
Language
Hindi and English
JIM&WS Pahalgam doesn't publish a description for this batch beyond its schedule.
Eligibility
Age
12–45 years
Batch
Not stated
Earlier courses or certificates
None listed
Skills (your own declaration)
None listed
Fitness and medical
JIM&WS medical form: JIM&WS's form, from its website
Selection or screening
Screening test after the third day of the course: a brisk walk at 6.5 km/h, 5–10 sets of chin-ups and 5–10 sets of push-ups.
Tell us your age and what you already have; we compare it with this course's published rules. We don't assess medical fitness and can't promise admission.
Fees, what's included and refunds
Course fee (Indian nationals)
₹33,000The same fee for J&K students and students from other states.Currency: Indian rupees · source
Foreign nationals
Not published
Compulsory charges
Adventure insurance is compulsory — buy your own (price varies).
Taxes
Not stated
Payment
Not stated
What the fee covers
Accommodation
Not publishedJIM&WS says food and accommodation are covered for its special group courses; its programme doesn't say so for regular courses. · source
Meals
Not publishedJIM&WS says food and accommodation are covered for its special group courses; its programme doesn't say so for regular courses. · source
Equipment
IncludedJIM&WS provides all mountaineering and skiing equipment and the specialised clothing needed; you bring personal items. · source
Not includedCompulsory, but JIM&WS doesn't provide it — bring a ₹3–5 lakh policy valid for the whole course. · source
We only mark something included when the institute says so — never because the course is residential.
Not included
Insurance (compulsory; buy your own)
Medical care beyond first aid and evacuation to the nearest health centre — further evacuation, tests and treatment are at your cost
Cancellation and refunds
Cancel three months before the course: JIM&WS deducts 15% of the fee. Two months before: 25%. One month before: 50%.
Cancel less than a month before the course: no refund.
Instead of cancelling, you can move your seat to the next batch (₹1,000, asked at least a month ahead) or to next year's course (a further 10% of the fee).
For the institute only — TravelTycoons never asks you to upload these.
JIM&WS application formRequiredWhy: Your application, including the indemnity bond and payment details · Format: JIM&WS's form in block letters, with a photograph, your nationality certified by a Gazetted Officer (with seal), and signed by you and a parent or guardian · When: With the application · Source: JIM&WS application form, indemnity bond and winter checklist (PDF)
JIM&WS medical formRequiredWhy: A medical confirmation that you're fit to train · Format: JIM&WS's form, from its website · When: With the application · Source: JIM&WS course programme 2026–27 (PDF)
Fee receiptRequiredWhy: Shows the fee is paid · Format: Online payment receipt (the form asks for the SBI Collect reference or bank draft number) · When: With the application · Source: JIM&WS course programme 2026–27 (PDF)
Insurance certificateRequiredWhy: Cover for accidents, death, disability, loss of limb, illness or injury during training — compulsory · Format: Your own policy from an accredited insurer, ₹3–5 lakh, valid for the whole course. JIM&WS doesn't offer insurance. · When: Checked when you report — without it you won't be admitted · Source: JIM&WS application form, indemnity bond and winter checklist (PDF)
Built from this course's published rules. Tick items as you go — your progress stays on this device. Don't upload documents here; you only need them for the institute.
How to apply
Read JIM&WS's course programme for the year, including its cancellation deductions.
Register and apply online at jawaharinstitutepahalgam.com, saying whether you're a J&K resident (J&K students pay a lower fee for most courses).
Pay the full course fee online in advance.
Fill in JIM&WS's application form (nationality certified by a Gazetted Officer) and medical form. The 2026–27 programme asks for hard copies of both, with the fee receipt, by speed post; the 2027–28 programme takes applications online, and offline ones only in exceptional cases.
JIM&WS confirms your seat by email from principal@jawaharinstitutepahalgam.com.
If it's full or you need to change batch: A seat can be moved to the next batch if you ask at least a month before the course (₹1,000, subject to seats). Moving it to next year's course costs a further 10% of the fee paid. Beyond the approved seats, JIM&WS can take up to 30 more trainees per course (20 in 2026–27) at higher fees: ₹36,000, ₹48,000 or ₹96,000, depending on how full the course is.
Application window: JIM&WS doesn't publish an application window; it confirms your seat by email once your application, medical form and fee receipt reach it.
Email reminders aren't available yet — TravelTycoons hasn't connected an email service. The calendar file adds alerts 7 days before application dates and 3 days before the course starts. Saving a course never reserves a seat.
Training location
Sonamarg/Gulmarg, Jammu and Kashmir. Institute address: Nunwan, Pahalgam, Jammu and Kashmir 192126.
Official course logistics are marked as the institute's. Everything else is TravelTycoons' planning information — nothing here is booked or included in the fee.
Reporting (JIM&WS Pahalgam): Arrive one day before the course starts and leave one day after it ends (2027–28 programme). Trainees are relieved after breakfast on the last day; JIM&WS advises booking return travel in advance.
Included: equipment. Not included: insurance. Other items aren't stated. source
Can I get a refund if I cancel?
Cancel three months before the course: JIM&WS deducts 15% of the fee. Two months before: 25%. One month before: 50%. Cancel less than a month before the course: no refund. Instead of cancelling, you can move your seat to the next batch (₹1,000, asked at least a month ahead) or to next year's course (a further 10% of the fee). source
Can I move to another batch?
A seat can be moved to the next batch if you ask at least a month before the course (₹1,000, subject to seats). Moving it to next year's course costs a further 10% of the fee paid. Beyond the approved seats, JIM&WS can take up to 30 more trainees per course (20 in 2026–27) at higher fees: ₹36,000, ₹48,000 or ₹96,000, depending on how full the course is. source
Can I arrive late or leave early?
Arrive one day before the course starts and leave one day after it ends (2027–28 programme). Trainees are relieved after breakfast on the last day; JIM&WS advises booking return travel in advance. source
Is insurance needed?
Compulsory, but JIM&WS doesn't provide it — bring a ₹3–5 lakh policy valid for the whole course. source
What if there isn't enough snow?
JIM&WS says skiing course dates may change with weather and snow conditions. source
How do I apply?
Read JIM&WS's course programme for the year, including its cancellation deductions. Then follow JIM&WS Pahalgam's steps on its official website. source
JIM&WS Pahalgam · Sonamarg/Gulmarg, Jammu and Kashmir
Course dates
4 Jan 2027 → 17 Jan 2027
Duration
14 days
Age
12–45 years
Fee (Indian nationals)
₹33,000
Seats
30 places
Applications
Not confirmed openJIM&WS doesn't publish an application window; it confirms your seat by email once your application, medical form and fee receipt reach it.
JIM&WS Pahalgam · Sonamarg/Gulmarg, Jammu and Kashmir
Course dates
7 Feb 2027 → 20 Feb 2027
Duration
14 days
Age
12–45 years
Fee (Indian nationals)
₹33,000
Seats
30 places
Applications
Not confirmed openJIM&WS doesn't publish an application window; it confirms your seat by email once your application, medical form and fee receipt reach it.
JIM&WS Pahalgam · Sonamarg/Gulmarg, Jammu and Kashmir
Course dates
24 Feb 2027 → 9 Mar 2027
Duration
14 days
Age
12–45 years
Fee (Indian nationals)
₹33,000
Seats
30 places
Applications
Not confirmed openJIM&WS doesn't publish an application window; it confirms your seat by email once your application, medical form and fee receipt reach it.
JIM&WS Pahalgam · Sonamarg/Gulmarg, Jammu and Kashmir
Course dates
4 Jan 2028 → 17 Jan 2028
Duration
14 days
Age
12–45 years
Fee (Indian nationals)
₹33,000
Seats
20 places
Applications
Not confirmed openJIM&WS doesn't publish an application window; it confirms your seat by email once your application, medical form and fee receipt reach it.
JIM&WS Pahalgam · Sonamarg/Gulmarg, Jammu and Kashmir
Course dates
21 Jan 2028 → 3 Feb 2028
Duration
14 days
Age
12–45 years
Fee (Indian nationals)
₹33,000
Seats
20 places
Applications
Not confirmed openJIM&WS doesn't publish an application window; it confirms your seat by email once your application, medical form and fee receipt reach it.
JIM&WS Pahalgam · Sonamarg/Gulmarg, Jammu and Kashmir
Course dates
7 Feb 2028 → 20 Feb 2028
Duration
14 days
Age
12–45 years
Fee (Indian nationals)
₹33,000
Seats
20 places
Applications
Not confirmed openJIM&WS doesn't publish an application window; it confirms your seat by email once your application, medical form and fee receipt reach it.
JIM&WS Pahalgam · Sonamarg/Gulmarg, Jammu and Kashmir
Course dates
4 Jan 2027 → 17 Jan 2027
Duration
14 days
Age
12–45 years
Fee (Indian nationals)
₹33,000
Seats
30 places
Applications
Not confirmed openJIM&WS doesn't publish an application window; it confirms your seat by email once your application, medical form and fee receipt reach it.
JIM&WS Pahalgam · Sonamarg/Gulmarg, Jammu and Kashmir
Course dates
21 Jan 2027 → 3 Feb 2027
Duration
14 days
Age
12–45 years
Fee (Indian nationals)
₹33,000
Seats
30 places
Applications
Not confirmed openJIM&WS doesn't publish an application window; it confirms your seat by email once your application, medical form and fee receipt reach it.
18 Oct 2026 — Copied from the institute's published training schedule.
"Verified current" means a person checked the official source within the last 30 days. A page visited by our monitor alone never makes information current.
Report an error
TravelTycoons isn't connected to any of these institutes and doesn't take applications or payments. Facts are copied from each institute's own website on the dates shown and can change — the institute's official page, and its decision on your application, always come first. Not all adventure training in India is government-run: many private schools and operators run courses too; this directory covers only government institutes we could verify.