Who can apply: ages 17–45; entry requirement not published
Fee: ₹20,400–₹30,000 ₹20,400 for J&K students, ₹30,000 for students from other states.
Fee covers: equipment · adventure insurance is compulsory and not included
Applications: Check with the institute · JIM&WS doesn't publish an application window; it confirms your seat by email once your application, medical form and fee receipt reach it.
Watch out: Screening test after the third day of the course: a brisk walk at 6.5 km/h, 5–10 sets of chin-ups and 5–10 sets of push-ups.
Not confirmed openJIM&WS doesn't publish an application window; it confirms your seat by email once your application, medical form and fee receipt reach it.
Age limit
17–45 years
Fee (Indian nationals)
₹20,400–₹30,000
Seats
20 places
Language
Hindi and English
Searching for and evacuating casualties in mountains and snow-bound areas, including glaciers, with avalanche equipment (victim detectors, rods, cords) and training in forming quick-response avalanche rescue teams. — JIM&WS — Search and rescue
Eligibility
Age
17–45 years
Batch
Not stated
Earlier courses or certificates
None listed
Skills (your own declaration)
None listed
Fitness and medical
JIM&WS medical form: JIM&WS's form, from its website
Selection or screening
Screening test after the third day of the course: a brisk walk at 6.5 km/h, 5–10 sets of chin-ups and 5–10 sets of push-ups.
Nationality or residency
Not published
Language
Hindi and English
Not published — ask first
JIM&WS doesn't publish the entry requirement for its Search & Rescue course.
Tell us your age and what you already have; we compare it with this course's published rules. We don't assess medical fitness and can't promise admission.
Fees, what's included and refunds
Course fee (Indian nationals)
₹20,400–₹30,000₹20,400 for J&K students, ₹30,000 for students from other states.Currency: Indian rupees · source
Foreign nationals
Not published
Compulsory charges
Adventure insurance is compulsory — buy your own (price varies).
Taxes
Not stated
Payment
Not stated
What the fee covers
Accommodation
Not publishedJIM&WS says food and accommodation are covered for its special group courses; its programme doesn't say so for regular courses. · source
Meals
Not publishedJIM&WS says food and accommodation are covered for its special group courses; its programme doesn't say so for regular courses. · source
Equipment
IncludedJIM&WS provides all mountaineering and skiing equipment and the specialised clothing needed; you bring personal items. · source
Not includedCompulsory, but JIM&WS doesn't provide it — bring a ₹3–5 lakh policy valid for the whole course. · source
We only mark something included when the institute says so — never because the course is residential.
Not included
Insurance (compulsory; buy your own)
Medical care beyond first aid and evacuation to the nearest health centre — further evacuation, tests and treatment are at your cost
Cancellation and refunds
Cancel three months before the course: JIM&WS deducts 15% of the fee. Two months before: 25%. One month before: 50%.
Cancel less than a month before the course: no refund.
Instead of cancelling, you can move your seat to the next batch (₹1,000, asked at least a month ahead) or to next year's course (a further 10% of the fee).
For the institute only — TravelTycoons never asks you to upload these.
JIM&WS application formRequiredWhy: Your application, including the indemnity bond and payment details · Format: JIM&WS's form in block letters, with a photograph, your nationality certified by a Gazetted Officer (with seal), and signed by you and a parent or guardian · When: With the application · Source: JIM&WS application form, indemnity bond and winter checklist (PDF)
JIM&WS medical formRequiredWhy: A medical confirmation that you're fit to train · Format: JIM&WS's form, from its website · When: With the application · Source: JIM&WS course programme 2026–27 (PDF)
Fee receiptRequiredWhy: Shows the fee is paid · Format: Online payment receipt (the form asks for the SBI Collect reference or bank draft number) · When: With the application · Source: JIM&WS course programme 2026–27 (PDF)
Insurance certificateRequiredWhy: Cover for accidents, death, disability, loss of limb, illness or injury during training — compulsory · Format: Your own policy from an accredited insurer, ₹3–5 lakh, valid for the whole course. JIM&WS doesn't offer insurance. · When: Checked when you report — without it you won't be admitted · Source: JIM&WS application form, indemnity bond and winter checklist (PDF)
Built from this course's published rules. Tick items as you go — your progress stays on this device. Don't upload documents here; you only need them for the institute.
How to apply
Read JIM&WS's course programme for the year, including its cancellation deductions.
Register and apply online at jawaharinstitutepahalgam.com, saying whether you're a J&K resident (J&K students pay a lower fee for most courses).
Pay the full course fee online in advance.
Fill in JIM&WS's application form (nationality certified by a Gazetted Officer) and medical form. The 2026–27 programme asks for hard copies of both, with the fee receipt, by speed post; the 2027–28 programme takes applications online, and offline ones only in exceptional cases.
JIM&WS confirms your seat by email from principal@jawaharinstitutepahalgam.com.
If it's full or you need to change batch: A seat can be moved to the next batch if you ask at least a month before the course (₹1,000, subject to seats). Moving it to next year's course costs a further 10% of the fee paid. Beyond the approved seats, JIM&WS can take up to 30 more trainees per course (20 in 2026–27) at higher fees: ₹36,000, ₹48,000 or ₹96,000, depending on how full the course is.
Application window: JIM&WS doesn't publish an application window; it confirms your seat by email once your application, medical form and fee receipt reach it.
Email reminders aren't available yet — TravelTycoons hasn't connected an email service. The calendar file adds alerts 7 days before application dates and 3 days before the course starts. Saving a course never reserves a seat.
Training location
Sonamarg/Pahalgam, Jammu and Kashmir. Institute address: Nunwan, Pahalgam, Jammu and Kashmir 192126.
Official course logistics are marked as the institute's. Everything else is TravelTycoons' planning information — nothing here is booked or included in the fee.
Reporting (JIM&WS Pahalgam): Arrive one day before the course starts and leave one day after it ends (2027–28 programme). Trainees are relieved after breakfast on the last day; JIM&WS advises booking return travel in advance.
Best time to visit (for sightseeing): May – Sep · altitude about 2,800 m.
Plan to arrive a day early for long journeys (unless the institute forbids early arrival), and book only after your seat is confirmed.
Total cost of attending
Starts from the official fee and adds what you'd likely spend. Official figures are exact; travel, stay and food are estimates, not quotes.
Preparation and equipment
JIM&WS Pahalgam's official kit list
The institute provides technical equipment; it asks you to bring:
Umbrella, and a head lamp or torch with spare batteries
Cap; face mask, neck warmer and balaclava
Polarised sunglasses (and ski goggles in winter)
Upper and lower thermals, at least 2 pairs each
Fleece jacket and down jacket
Raincoat and a windproof, waterproof jacket; windproof, waterproof trek suit
Waterproof gloves; knee cap and crepe bandage
Trekking pants (ski pants in winter)
Woollen socks: 3–4 pairs for daily wear plus at least 3 more (ski or knee-length socks in winter)
Personal clothing (underwear, undershirts, handkerchiefs, warm clothes) and a needle and thread
Summer: high-ankle trekking shoes and sports shoes. Winter: gumboots and trekking shoes for walking in snow
Knapsack or small day pack
Sunscreen SPF 30+ (100 ml), lip balm and moisturiser
Mouthwash and toiletries
Book and pen
Mustard oil for foot massage; painkiller ointment; electrolyte powder or ORS
1-litre thermos (plus a 1-litre water bottle in summer)
Winter: a hot-water bottle for your sleeping bag, and knee, elbow, hip and wrist pads for snowboarding. Summer: a tiffin box or mess tin for packed lunches
For mountaineering, loose, comfortable clothing (trek suits, full-sleeve T-shirts, cargo pants) — skin-tight and half-sleeve clothing isn't permitted
Not the institute's rules — follow the institute where they differ.
Train for at least three months: long walks on uneven ground with a loaded pack, running and stair climbs. NIM and HMI both test fitness on arrival, and trainees who fail can be sent home.
Mountain courses go high. Tell the institute's doctor about any medical condition and report headaches, breathlessness or nausea straight away.
It will be cold, especially at night: thermals, a warm jacket, woollen cap and gloves.
Keep copies of your ID, medical certificate and payment receipt, separate from the originals.
Questions, answered from the rules
Do I need experience?
JIM&WS Pahalgam hasn't published the entry requirement — ask before applying. source
Included: equipment. Not included: insurance. Other items aren't stated. source
Can I get a refund if I cancel?
Cancel three months before the course: JIM&WS deducts 15% of the fee. Two months before: 25%. One month before: 50%. Cancel less than a month before the course: no refund. Instead of cancelling, you can move your seat to the next batch (₹1,000, asked at least a month ahead) or to next year's course (a further 10% of the fee). source
Can I move to another batch?
A seat can be moved to the next batch if you ask at least a month before the course (₹1,000, subject to seats). Moving it to next year's course costs a further 10% of the fee paid. Beyond the approved seats, JIM&WS can take up to 30 more trainees per course (20 in 2026–27) at higher fees: ₹36,000, ₹48,000 or ₹96,000, depending on how full the course is. source
Can I arrive late or leave early?
Arrive one day before the course starts and leave one day after it ends (2027–28 programme). Trainees are relieved after breakfast on the last day; JIM&WS advises booking return travel in advance. source
Is insurance needed?
Compulsory, but JIM&WS doesn't provide it — bring a ₹3–5 lakh policy valid for the whole course. source
How do I apply?
Read JIM&WS's course programme for the year, including its cancellation deductions. Then follow JIM&WS Pahalgam's steps on its official website. source
JIM&WS Pahalgam · Sonamarg/Pahalgam, Jammu and Kashmir
Course dates
12 Mar 2027 → 26 Mar 2027
Duration
15 days
Age
17–45 years
Fee (Indian nationals)
₹18,500–₹27,300
Seats
20 places
Applications
Not confirmed openJIM&WS doesn't publish an application window; it confirms your seat by email once your application, medical form and fee receipt reach it.
18 Oct 2026 — Copied from the institute's published training schedule.
"Verified current" means a person checked the official source within the last 30 days. A page visited by our monitor alone never makes information current.
Report an error
TravelTycoons isn't connected to any of these institutes and doesn't take applications or payments. Facts are copied from each institute's own website on the dates shown and can change — the institute's official page, and its decision on your application, always come first. Not all adventure training in India is government-run: many private schools and operators run courses too; this directory covers only government institutes we could verify.