Check with the institute Open to the public Adventure orientation

Adventure Course 101

Jawahar Institute of Mountaineering and Winter Sports · Pahalgam, Jammu and Kashmir

Last verified 18 Oct 2026 · Verified current

Apply on Official Website

Everything you need to know

  • When: 20 Apr 2027 to 4 May 2027 (15 days)
  • Where: Pahalgam, Jammu and Kashmir · run by Jawahar Institute of Mountaineering and Winter Sports
  • Who can apply: ages 12–50; no earlier course needed
  • Fee: ₹11,000–₹16,200 ₹11,000 for J&K students, ₹16,200 for students from other states.
  • Fee covers: equipment · adventure insurance is compulsory and not included
  • Applications: Check with the institute · JIM&WS doesn't publish an application window; it confirms your seat by email once your application, medical form and fee receipt reach it.
  • Watch out: Screening test after the third day of the course: a brisk walk at 6.5 km/h, 5–10 sets of chin-ups and 5–10 sets of push-ups.

Apply on Official Website Applications and payment happen on www.jawaharinstitutepahalgam.com.

Course
Adventure Course 101Code: Adventure 101
Discipline
Adventure orientationAdventure orientation
Level
Beginner
Course dates
20 Apr 2027 → 4 May 2027
Duration
15 days
Applications
Not confirmed openJIM&WS doesn't publish an application window; it confirms your seat by email once your application, medical form and fee receipt reach it.
Age limit
12–50 years
Fee (Indian nationals)
₹11,000–₹16,200
Seats
50 places
Language
Hindi and English

An introduction to adventure sports — mountaineering, trekking, tent pitching and survival — with rock and ice craft, watermanship and visits to local villages. — JIM&WS — Adventure courses

Eligibility

Age12–50 years
BatchNot stated
Earlier courses or certificatesNone listed
Skills (your own declaration)None listed
Fitness and medical
  • JIM&WS medical form: JIM&WS's form, from its website
Selection or screening
  • Screening test after the third day of the course: a brisk walk at 6.5 km/h, 5–10 sets of chin-ups and 5–10 sets of push-ups.
Nationality or residency
  • Foreign nationals may apply (fee USD 420).
LanguageHindi and English

From JIM&WS course programme 2027–28 (PDF). The institute decides who is admitted.

Check your eligibility

Tell us your age and what you already have; we compare it with this course's published rules. We don't assess medical fitness and can't promise admission.

Fees, what's included and refunds

Course fee (Indian nationals)₹11,000–₹16,200₹11,000 for J&K students, ₹16,200 for students from other states.Currency: Indian rupees · source
Foreign nationalsUSD 420
Compulsory chargesAdventure insurance is compulsory — buy your own (price varies).
TaxesNot stated
PaymentNot stated

What the fee covers

AccommodationNot publishedJIM&WS says food and accommodation are covered for its special group courses; its programme doesn't say so for regular courses. · source
MealsNot publishedJIM&WS says food and accommodation are covered for its special group courses; its programme doesn't say so for regular courses. · source
EquipmentIncludedJIM&WS provides all mountaineering and skiing equipment and the specialised clothing needed; you bring personal items. · source
Transport during the courseNot publishedNot stated. · source
InsuranceNot includedCompulsory, but JIM&WS doesn't provide it — bring a ₹3–5 lakh policy valid for the whole course. · source

We only mark something included when the institute says so — never because the course is residential.

Not included

  • Insurance (compulsory; buy your own)
  • Medical care beyond first aid and evacuation to the nearest health centre — further evacuation, tests and treatment are at your cost

Cancellation and refunds

  • Cancel three months before the course: JIM&WS deducts 15% of the fee. Two months before: 25%. One month before: 50%.
  • Cancel less than a month before the course: no refund.
  • Instead of cancelling, you can move your seat to the next batch (₹1,000, asked at least a month ahead) or to next year's course (a further 10% of the fee).

From JIM&WS — Refund policy.

Documents you'll need

For the institute only — TravelTycoons never asks you to upload these.

Your application checklist

Built from this course's published rules. Tick items as you go — your progress stays on this device. Don't upload documents here; you only need them for the institute.

How to apply

  1. Read JIM&WS's course programme for the year, including its cancellation deductions.
  2. Register and apply online at jawaharinstitutepahalgam.com, saying whether you're a J&K resident (J&K students pay a lower fee for most courses).
  3. Pay the full course fee online in advance.
  4. Fill in JIM&WS's application form (nationality certified by a Gazetted Officer) and medical form. The 2026–27 programme asks for hard copies of both, with the fee receipt, by speed post; the 2027–28 programme takes applications online, and offline ones only in exceptional cases.
  5. JIM&WS confirms your seat by email from principal@jawaharinstitutepahalgam.com.

If it's full or you need to change batch: A seat can be moved to the next batch if you ask at least a month before the course (₹1,000, subject to seats). Moving it to next year's course costs a further 10% of the fee paid. Beyond the approved seats, JIM&WS can take up to 30 more trainees per course (20 in 2026–27) at higher fees: ₹36,000, ₹48,000 or ₹96,000, depending on how full the course is.

Apply on Official Website

Dates and reminders

  1. Course starts
  2. Course ends

Application window: JIM&WS doesn't publish an application window; it confirms your seat by email once your application, medical form and fee receipt reach it.

Email reminders aren't available yet — TravelTycoons hasn't connected an email service. The calendar file adds alerts 7 days before application dates and 3 days before the course starts. Saving a course never reserves a seat.

Training location

Pahalgam, Jammu and Kashmir. Institute address: Nunwan, Pahalgam, Jammu and Kashmir 192126.

Find the institute on OpenStreetMap

Getting there and travel planning

Official course logistics are marked as the institute's. Everything else is TravelTycoons' planning information — nothing here is booked or included in the fee.

Reporting (JIM&WS Pahalgam): Arrive one day before the course starts and leave one day after it ends (2027–28 programme). Trainees are relieved after breakfast on the last day; JIM&WS advises booking return travel in advance.

Nearest airport
Srinagar Airport (~95 km)
Nearest railway
Anantnag (~45 km)
By road
2.5–3 hr from Srinagar

From our travel guide: Pahalgam, Jammu & Kashmir — photos, best time, weather and nearby places.

Best time to visit (for sightseeing): Apr – Oct · altitude about 2,740 m.

Plan to arrive a day early for long journeys (unless the institute forbids early arrival), and book only after your seat is confirmed.

Total cost of attending

Starts from the official fee and adds what you'd likely spend. Official figures are exact; travel, stay and food are estimates, not quotes.

Preparation and equipment

JIM&WS Pahalgam's official kit list

The institute provides technical equipment; it asks you to bring:

  • Umbrella, and a head lamp or torch with spare batteries
  • Cap; face mask, neck warmer and balaclava
  • Polarised sunglasses (and ski goggles in winter)
  • Upper and lower thermals, at least 2 pairs each
  • Fleece jacket and down jacket
  • Raincoat and a windproof, waterproof jacket; windproof, waterproof trek suit
  • Waterproof gloves; knee cap and crepe bandage
  • Trekking pants (ski pants in winter)
  • Woollen socks: 3–4 pairs for daily wear plus at least 3 more (ski or knee-length socks in winter)
  • Personal clothing (underwear, undershirts, handkerchiefs, warm clothes) and a needle and thread
  • Summer: high-ankle trekking shoes and sports shoes. Winter: gumboots and trekking shoes for walking in snow
  • Knapsack or small day pack
  • Sunscreen SPF 30+ (100 ml), lip balm and moisturiser
  • Mouthwash and toiletries
  • Book and pen
  • Mustard oil for foot massage; painkiller ointment; electrolyte powder or ORS
  • 1-litre thermos (plus a 1-litre water bottle in summer)
  • Winter: a hot-water bottle for your sleeping bag, and knee, elbow, hip and wrist pads for snowboarding. Summer: a tiffin box or mess tin for packed lunches
  • For mountaineering, loose, comfortable clothing (trek suits, full-sleeve T-shirts, cargo pants) — skin-tight and half-sleeve clothing isn't permitted

JIM&WS — Items required, winter and summer (PDF)

General advice from TravelTycoons

Not the institute's rules — follow the institute where they differ.

  • Train for at least three months: long walks on uneven ground with a loaded pack, running and stair climbs. NIM and HMI both test fitness on arrival, and trainees who fail can be sent home.
  • Mountain courses go high. Tell the institute's doctor about any medical condition and report headaches, breathlessness or nausea straight away.
  • Keep copies of your ID, medical certificate and payment receipt, separate from the originals.

Questions, answered from the rules

Do I need experience?

No earlier course is listed as a requirement. source

Who can apply?

People aged 12–50. source

What does the fee include?

Included: equipment. Not included: insurance. Other items aren't stated. source

Can I get a refund if I cancel?

Cancel three months before the course: JIM&WS deducts 15% of the fee. Two months before: 25%. One month before: 50%. Cancel less than a month before the course: no refund. Instead of cancelling, you can move your seat to the next batch (₹1,000, asked at least a month ahead) or to next year's course (a further 10% of the fee). source

Can I move to another batch?

A seat can be moved to the next batch if you ask at least a month before the course (₹1,000, subject to seats). Moving it to next year's course costs a further 10% of the fee paid. Beyond the approved seats, JIM&WS can take up to 30 more trainees per course (20 in 2026–27) at higher fees: ₹36,000, ₹48,000 or ₹96,000, depending on how full the course is. source

Can I arrive late or leave early?

Arrive one day before the course starts and leave one day after it ends (2027–28 programme). Trainees are relieved after breakfast on the last day; JIM&WS advises booking return travel in advance. source

Is insurance needed?

Compulsory, but JIM&WS doesn't provide it — bring a ₹3–5 lakh policy valid for the whole course. source

Can foreign nationals join?

Yes — JIM&WS Pahalgam publishes a fee of USD 420 for foreign nationals. source

How do I apply?

Read JIM&WS's course programme for the year, including its cancellation deductions. Then follow JIM&WS Pahalgam's steps on its official website. source

Official contacts

Office hours not published. Website: jawaharinstitutepahalgam.com

Other dates and similar courses

Other batches of this course

Check with the institute Open to the public Adventure orientation

Adventure Course 100

JIM&WS Pahalgam · Pahalgam, Jammu and Kashmir

Course dates
1 Apr 2027 → 15 Apr 2027
Duration
15 days
Age
12–50 years
Fee (Indian nationals)
₹11,000–₹16,200
Seats
50 places
Applications
Not confirmed openJIM&WS doesn't publish an application window; it confirms your seat by email once your application, medical form and fee receipt reach it.

Course details Official website Last verified 18 Oct 2026 · Verified current

Similar courses elsewhere

Check with the institute Open to the public Adventure orientation

Adventure Course 251

NIM Uttarkashi · Uttarkashi, Uttarakhand

Course dates
17 Nov 2026 → 30 Nov 2026
Duration
14 days
Age
20–50 years
Fee (Indian nationals)
₹14,617
Seats
70 places
Applications
Not confirmed openNIM doesn't publish an application window; seats are allotted first come, first served once the fee is paid.

Course details Official website Last verified 18 Oct 2026 · Verified current

Check with the institute Open to the public Adventure orientation

Adventure Course 252

NIM Uttarkashi · Uttarkashi, Uttarakhand

Course dates
2 Dec 2026 → 15 Dec 2026
Duration
14 days
Age
14–20 years
Fee (Indian nationals)
₹14,617
Seats
70 places
Applications
Not confirmed openNIM doesn't publish an application window; seats are allotted first come, first served once the fee is paid.

Course details Official website Last verified 18 Oct 2026 · Verified current

Applications open Open to the public Adventure orientation

Adventure Course 268

HMI Darjeeling · Darjeeling, West Bengal

Course dates
20 Dec 2026 → 3 Jan 2027
Duration
15 days
Age
12–17 years
Fee (Indian nationals)
₹14,616
Seats
70 places
Applications
Open62 seats left on 18 Oct 2026 (official listing)

Course details Official website Last verified 18 Oct 2026 · Verified current

Applications open Open to the public Adventure orientation

Adventure Course 269

HMI Darjeeling · Darjeeling, West Bengal

Course dates
10 Jan 2027 → 24 Jan 2027
Duration
15 days
Age
12–17 years
Fee (Indian nationals)
₹14,616
Seats
70 places
Applications
Open68 seats left on 18 Oct 2026 (official listing)

Course details Official website Last verified 18 Oct 2026 · Verified current

Applications open Open to the public Adventure orientation

Adventure Course 270

HMI Darjeeling · Darjeeling, West Bengal

Course dates
29 Jan 2027 → 12 Feb 2027
Duration
15 days
Age
12–45 years
Fee (Indian nationals)
₹14,616
Seats
70 places
Applications
Open69 seats left on 18 Oct 2026 (official listing)

Course details Official website Last verified 18 Oct 2026 · Verified current

Official source and update history

Last verified 18 Oct 2026 · Verified current

FactOfficial sourceApplies toLast checkedStatus
Dates and seatsJIM&WS course programme 2027–28 (PDF)April 2027 – March 202818 Oct 2026Verified current
FeeJIM&WS course programme 2027–28 (PDF)April 2027 – March 202818 Oct 2026Verified current
EligibilityJIM&WS course programme 2027–28 (PDF)April 2027 – March 202818 Oct 2026Verified current
Course descriptionJIM&WS — Adventure coursesCurrent18 Oct 2026Verified current
What's includedJIM&WS course programme 2027–28 (PDF)April 2027 – March 202818 Oct 2026Verified current
Refund rulesJIM&WS — Refund policyCurrent18 Oct 2026Verified current
DocumentsJIM&WS application form, indemnity bond and winter checklist (PDF)Current18 Oct 2026Verified current

History

  • 18 Oct 2026 — Copied from the institute's published training schedule.

"Verified current" means a person checked the official source within the last 30 days. A page visited by our monitor alone never makes information current.

Report an error

TravelTycoons isn't connected to any of these institutes and doesn't take applications or payments. Facts are copied from each institute's own website on the dates shown and can change — the institute's official page, and its decision on your application, always come first. Not all adventure training in India is government-run: many private schools and operators run courses too; this directory covers only government institutes we could verify.